ChatGPT Must Die

Orrin Onken
4 min readJan 22, 2023
AI image: Prompt by Orrin Onken

ChatGPT is too good to live.

ChatGPT is a chat bot invented by a company called OpenAI. It talks with you and, more importantly, answers questions.

I love ChatGPT.

To put ChatGPT in context, allow me to review my current system of finding answers to questions on the internet.

  • A question comes to mind. Something simple, on a subject I’m curious about.
  • I devise some keywords for a Boolean search of the internet intended to lead me to the answer I am looking for.
  • I type the keywords into Google and get a list of links to websites that might have information related to my search words
  • I ignore the top five links because they are “promoted,” which is code for they will give me as little information as possible while trying to sell me stuff.
  • I click on the first non-promoted site and get told that it won’t give me anything unless I turn off the ad blocker that is built into my browser, Opera.
  • I find a site that doesn’t kick me off for having an ad blocker and begin scrolling for the promised useful information. I scroll and scroll and scroll and scroll, passing hundreds of broken links to ads, until such time as analytics has determined that I am just about to give up.
  • And finally, there is a…

--

--

Orrin Onken

I am a retired elder law attorney who lives near Portland, Oregon. I write legal mysteries for Salish Ponds Press and articles about being old.